Your donation of 50.- € enables us to give one more child the chance to play and to enjoy a daily meal in the Salikenni Nursery School for a whole year.

Account number: 841 3791
BLZ: 430 500 01
Sparkasse Bochum
IBAN: DE80430500010008413791
BIC: WELADED1BOC

The Education System

The British school system in The Gambia destines that children in the age from four to six visit a "Nursery School" (preschool) for three 3 years, in which they, inter alia, learn the basics of the English language before they enroll formally in the "Primary School" with seven years. Elementary school goes from the 1st to the 6th grade. At the end of 6th grade exams will be held in which the suitability of the so-called "Middle School" is determined. This includes grades 7 to 9, annual exams must be completed before a possible visit of the following "Secondary School". The Secondary School includes grade 10 to 12, and closes with the A-level examination which authorizes to university. Although school system is derived from the British system, a general education is compulsory but only in the "Greater Banjul Area", the little stretch of coast of Gambia.

The visit of public and private schools cost money. The annual fee for a student in grade nine is about 20 Euro at Salikenni. Even this amount is not effortable for many families.  Thus, only 75 percent of children go to primary school, in the "Middle School" about half of the boys and 40 percent of girls are still enrolled. If the parents can no longer pay they declare school as completed. School fees cause the high illiteracy rate of about 60 percent in the Gambia as this leads to the fact that parents take children out of tuition because of lack of money.

English is the official language in all schools, in secondary schools they offer french as a foreign language and at Koran schools you can learn Arabic. The children learn in preschool first words and phrases in English. Nevertheless, most graduates in The Gambia have great difficulties with the English grammar, reading comprehension and writing skills. At the end of 9th grade students in Gambia lay down a formal test, which is conducted by the West African Examination Council (WAEC). The results of these tests has been very dissappointing for years. From 2006 to 2009, more than 2/3 of the students received the bad score possible ("F") in the central subjects of English and mathematics. The current results are unfortunately not available.

Übersicht über Schulformen in Gambia

Für 50,- € schenken Sie einem Kind ein Jahr lang Spielen und täglich eine warme Mahlzeit im Kindergarten in Salikenni.


Spendenkonto

Konto-Nr.: 841 3791
BLZ: 430 500 01
Sparkasse Bochum

IBAN:
DE80430500010008413791
BIC: WELADED1BOC

 

 

Das Schulsystem


Das britische Schulsystem in Gambia sieht vor, dass Kinder vom 4.-6. Lebensjahr 3 Jahre lang eine "Nursery School" (Vorschule) besuchen, in der sie u.a. die Grundlagen der englischen Sprache erlernen, bevor sie offiziell mit 7 Jahren in die "Primary School" (Grundschule) eingeschult werden. Die Grundschule geht von der 1. bis zur 6. Klassenstufe. Am Ende der 6. Klasse werden Prüfungen abgelegt, bei der die Tauglichkeit zur so genannten "Middle School" ermittelt wird. Diese beinhaltet die Klassenstufen 7 bis 9, in der jährlich Prüfungen für einen möglichen Besuch der darauf folgenden "Secondary School" absolviert werden müssen. Die Secondary School beinhaltet die Klassenstufe 10 bis 12 und schließt mit dem A-Level-Examen (Abitur) ab, das zu einem Universitätsstudium berechtigt.

Das Schulsystem ist zwar am britischen System angelehnt, eine allgemeine Schulpflicht besteht aber nur in der "Greater Banjul Area" dem kleinen Küstenabschnitt Gambias. Der Besuch öffentlicher oder privater Schulen kostet Geld. Die jährlichen Gebühren für einen Schüler der Jahrgangsstufe 9  betragen in Salikenni derzeit rund 20 Euro. Bereits das ist für viele Familien nicht aufzubringen. So gehen lediglich 75 Prozent der Kinder auf die Grundschule, in der "Middle School" sind nur noch etwa die Hälfte der Jungen sowie gut 40 Prozent der Mädchen eingeschrieben. Können die Eltern nicht mehr zahlen, wird das Kind "abgeschult". Schulgeldpflicht und Abschulungen aus Geldmangel sind in Gambia eine Mitursache für die hohe Analphabetenquote von ca. 60 Prozent.

Lehrsprache an allen Schulen ist Englisch, in den Sekundarschulen wird Französisch, in Koranschulen auch Arabisch als Fremdsprache angeboten. Die Kinder lernen bereits in der Vorschule erste Worte und Sätze auf Englisch. Dennoch haben die meisten Schulabsolventen in Gambia große Schwierigkeiten mit der englischen Grammatik, dem Leseverständnis und den Schreibfähigkeiten. Am Ende der 9. Klasse legen die Schüler in Gambia einen offiziellen Test ab, der vom westafrikanischen Examination Council (WAEC) durchgeführt wird. Die Ergebnisse dieser Prüfungen sind seit Jahren sehr schlecht. Von 2006 bis 2009 erhielten mehr als 2/3 der Schüler die schlechtes mögliche Note ("F") in den zentralen Fächern Englisch und Mathematik. Die aktuellen Ergebnisse liegen uns leider nicht vor.