Your donation of 50.- € enables us to give one more child the chance to play and to enjoy a daily meal in the Salikenni Nursery School for a whole year.

Account number: 841 3791
BLZ: 430 500 01
Sparkasse Bochum
IBAN: DE80430500010008413791
BIC: WELADED1BOC

Salikenni


Hauptstrasse in Salikenni

Salikenni is a village northost of the Gambia-River with about 4000 residens. Wide arid plains extend around the village. Here and there huge baobab trees stretch into the blue sky. At first glance the village appears quite confusing. Apart from some slightly wider and trafficable sandy pathes many tortuous and widely branching streets leed to so-called compounds, huts grouped together that give a home large families.


The huts are made of cement blocks or mud bricks and are usually separated with correcates or bound reeds from the plot of the neighboring compounds. The compounds often consist of several buildings in which 10-30 people of different generations live together.

Our nursery school is located in the north east of the village.

In Salikenni there is a small central market, several small and rather inconspicuous shops, a health center, a youth and sports center, a state school, several mosques and of course our nursery shcool. Islam is the dominant religion in the village. For the people in Salikenni commitment to Islam is a commitment to love and peaceful co-existence. Conflicts with religious background are not yet known.

Für 50,- € schenken Sie einem Kind ein Jahr lang Spielen und täglich eine warme Mahlzeit im Kindergarten in Salikenni.


Spendenkonto

Konto-Nr.: 841 3791
BLZ: 430 500 01
Sparkasse Bochum

IBAN:
DE80430500010008413791
BIC: WELADED1BOC

 

 

Salikenni


Hauptstrasse in Salikenni
Typischer Sandweg in Salikenni

Salikenni ist ein Dorf nördlich des Gambia-Rivers, in dem gut 4000 Menschen leben. Weite trockene Ebenen erstrecken sich rund um das Dorf. Hier und da recken sich riesige Affenbrotbäume in den blauen Himmel. Das Dorf ist auf den ersten Blick recht unübersichtlich. Neben einigen etwas breiteren und befahrbaren Sandwegen, führen viele gewundene und weitverzweigte Gassen vorbei an den sogenannten Compounds, den Hüttengruppen einzelner Großfamilien.

Die Hütten bestehen aus Zement-Blöcken oder Lehmziegeln und sind zumeist mit Wellblecheinzäunungen oder gebundenem Schilf vom Grundstück der benachbarten Compounds getrennt. Die Compounds bestehen häufig aus mehreren Gebäuden, in denen dann 10-30 Menschen verschiedener Generationen zusammen leben.

xyz
Unsere Nursery School liegt im Nordosten des Dorfes.

In Salikenni gibt es einen kleinen zentralen Markt, mehrere kleine und eher unscheinbare Geschäfte, eine Poliklinik, ein Jugend-und Sportzentrum, eine staatliche Schule, mehrere Moscheen und natürlich unseren Vorschulkindergarten. Der Islam ist die dominierende Religion im Dorf. Für die Menschen in Salikenni bedeutet die Bekenntnis zum Islam ein Bekenntnis zu Liebe und friedlichem Miteinander. Auseinandersetzungen mit religiösem Hintergrund sind bislang nicht bekannt.